The members of the Joint Jewish Burial Society are 32 London Synagogues and 14 National Synagogues.

The Society is a Company limited by Guarantee and a Registered Charity. The Society is governed by a Board of Trustees, comprising the five honorary officers (Chair, Vice Chair, Hon. Treasurer, Hon. Secretary and Hon. Actuary) and seven other trustees, all elected by the Member Synagogues. Trustees meet approximately six times a year. All Synagogues also participate in the Annual General Meeting and the JJBS Members Committee which normally meets at least twice a year.


Trustees make all strategic decisions, including investment policy, risk policy, setting fees and benefits. The JJBS Members Committee reviews the accounts and budget and provides advice to the Trustees.

Chair: Steve Wynne
Vice Chair: Cheryl Petar (also Acting Secretary)
Treasurer: Peter Vos
Actuary: Keith Feldman

Sextons: Mitzi Kalinsky, Ian Jacobs and Andrew Lewis